Our Work

Current Programs + Conversations

AFTERDARK2021_FB Cover  851x315.jpg

AFTER DARK 2021

AFTER DARK is an annual program that delves into the creative, spooky, and speculative world of horror and sci-fi storytelling. Witness how African + Black Diasporic filmmakers, writers, artists, and characters are contributing to the cult circuit while flipping the script on these mind-bending genres.

Join us for a series of watch parties with live commentary by special guests on contemporary Black horror.

Friday, October 29 
5:00 pm PST / 7:00 pm CST 

Join the watch party

SWEETHEART (2019, USA, 82 mins), Directed by JD Dillard
With special guest DR. ROBIN R. MEANS COLEMAN (Author of Horror Noire)

Saturday, October 30 
6:00 pm PST / 8:00 pm CST 

Join the watch party

HIS HOUSE (2020, USA/UK, 93 mins), Directed by Remi Weekes 
With Isabella Price (PNW filmmaker + writer) and SADE SELLERS (screenwriter + creator of AfroHorror)

~~~

💻 HOW TO WATCH 💻

 

For additional help, visit scener.com/faq 

 

~~~ 

Organized and designed by Chile Dulce | Presented by Black Cinema Collective (BCC) 

#blackcinemacollective #bccafterdark 

 

Past Programs + Conversations

A film program engaging stories of human connection.

Between the Frame: Virtual Screening + Discussion

Serious Tings

2020-2021 Katz Distinguished Lectures in the Humanities

A film program engaging stories of human connection.

Between the Frames: Outdoor Screening

Black Spatial Elegance: Sight + Sound

Community Watch: TIMBUKTU, 2014 by Abderrahmane Sissako

The Frye celebrates the final weekend of the landmark exhibition Black Refractions: Highlights from The Studio Museum in Harlem with a special screening program of artist videos and short films curated by Berette S Macaulay of Black Cinema Collective.

SHAPESHIFTERS

HOME: STORIES of be/LONGING

BCC AFTER DARK 2020

An Evolutionary History of Visual Art + Music

Black Queer Story Month, Part I

SciFi/Horror Shorts at On the Boards Drive In